Finding Books in the library
You can use the discovery service to search for books, e-books and articles in one search, or you can change the setting to catalogue to search for books only. Click on the link below to search for books using PrimoVE.
There are benefits to accessing the catalogue through Primo VE. You will be able to hold or request books online, so they are available when you visit the SPU LIS. Just log in with your student/staff email address and use your SPU password.
Books avalable online
Geography Indivisible
E-books for Chemistry
Methodologies and Applications for Analytical and Physical Chemistry by ISBN: 9781315159539Publication Date: 2018-07-17
Open Access Books
Here are some of the popular free eBook sites:
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
Bookboon is an online publishing company of eBooks. It is focused on publishing student literature for engineering, IT and business students as well as short and practical business books.
On Google Books, you can read books and magazines, download them, cite them, and translate them.
Project Gutenberg is an online library of free eBooks.
The Internet Archive offers over 20,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 2.3 million modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account
Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published.
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. HathiTrust provides long-term preservation and access services to digitized content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house member institution initiatives.
E-books for Earth Sciences
Biophysical Models and Applications in Ecosystem Analysis by ISBN: 9781611863932Publication Date: 2021-03-15
For a New Geography by ISBN: 9781517909086Publication Date: 2021-11-09
The Great Basin Seafloor by ISBN: 9781647690496Publication Date: 2022-02-28
New books
The Routledge handbook of urbanization and global environmental changeISBN: 9780367581695
1 BOOK Opportunities for biomass and organic waste valorisation : finding alternative solutions to disposal in South Africa by Call Number: 662.88OPPISBN: 9781776150106Publication Date: 2018
Introduction to Modern Climate Change by Call Number: 551.5 DESISBN: 9781108793872Publication Date: 2021-08-26
Handbook of Urban Geography by Call Number: 307.76 HANISBN: 9781785364594Publication Date: 2019-06-28
Understanding Global Climate Change by Call Number: 551.6 CRAISBN: 9781032001616Publication Date: 2021-07-28
Emerging Technologies in Agricultural Engineering by ISBN: 9781774636114Publication Date: 2021-03-31
Shelf numbers
Physics
530 Physics
531 Classical mechanics Solid mechanics
532 Fluid mechanics Liquid mechanics
533 Gas mechanics
534 Sound & related vibrations
535 Light & paraphotic phenomena
536 Heat
537 Electricity & electronics
538 Magnetism
539 Modern physics
Shelf numbers for Chemistry
540 Chemistry and allied sciences
542 Techniques, procedures, apparatus, equipment, materials
546 Inorganic chemistry
548 Crystallography
549 Mineralogy
Shelf number for Earth science
304-Human geographies
550 Earth
511 Environmental Science
551 Climatology and landscapes
910 Geography