Faculty of NAS: Physical & Earth Sciences: Research Support

ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier (an ORCID iD) that you own and control, and that distinguishes you from every other researcher. You can connect your iD with your professional information — affiliations, grants, publications, peer review, and more. You can use your iD to share your information with other systems, ensuring you get recognition for all your contributions, saving you time and hassle, and reducing the risk of errors.

Google Scholar Citations lets authors set up a profile page that lists their publications and citation metrics.

The citation metrics are updated automatically, and you can choose to have your list of publications updated automatically or update them yourself.
You can make your profile public, so that it appears in Google Scholar results when people search for your name.

Scopus by Elsevier is a subscription bibliographic database which provides citation metrics for publications and authors.

Scopus creates a unique number, or author identifier, for each author with documents indexed in Scopus.

This makes it possible to:

Distinguish between authors with very common names like Smith or Wang,
Group together documents published by the same author whose name may have changed over time or may be cited in a number of different ways, for example, one document might use: Clarke, Adrienne Elizabeth, while others may use Clarke, A. E. or Clarke, A.

Join over 2,800,000 researchers on Publons to track your publications, citation metrics, peer reviews, and journal editing work in a single, easy-to-maintain profile.

ResearchGate is the professional network for scientists and researchers. Over 19 million members from all over the world use it to share, discover, and discuss research. We're guided by our mission to connect the world of science and make research open to all.

Academia is a platform for sharing academic research. Academics have uploaded 22 million papers, and 125 million academics, professionals, and students read papers on Academia every month.

Mendeley is both a reference manager and a social network.

You can use Mendeley to:
Create bibliographies and insert citations into documents,
Import, organise and annotate PDF files,
Access papers on the web and mobile devices.
Collaborate with colleagues and share papers, notes and annotations,
Network with other researchers and discover potential collaborators.
Promote events and conferences.​

The Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a website which aims to rapidly disseminate social science research and facilitate communication among researchers.

It maintains a repository or 'eLibrary' of research for 24 social science disciplines or ‘research networks’, including economics, literature, information systems, law, management and sustainability.

The eLibrary has two parts: an abstract database, and a full-text repository.

You can upload your own papers to SSRN (and then others can download them for free), or choose to upload only abstracts and citations.

SSRN encourages readers and authors to directly communicate with each other and discuss their research, and publishes detailed author contact information