Skip to Main Content

Harvard Referencing Guide: Dictionary

The purpose of this guide is to simplify SPU Harvard referencing style for the SPU community

Dictionary with no author

In-text citation

Example one: 

Merriam-Webster's Dictionary (2012:12) defines governance as ...

or:  

Governance is the way that a city, company, etc., is controlled by the people who run it (Merriam-Webster's Dictionary 2012:12)

Reference List entry

Governance’ 2012, in Merriam-Webster's Dictionary, Merriam-Webster, Springfield, Massachusetts, viewed 7 November 2016 <http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/governance>.

Dictionary with author/editor

In-text citation

Example one: 

Meadows (2016:52) defines biodiversity as ...

or:  

Biodiversity is .... (Meadows 2016:52).

 

Reference List entry

Meadows, ME 2016, ‘Biodiversity’, in D Thomas, & G Andrew (eds.), The dictionary of physical geography, 4th edn, Blackwell Publishers, Oxford, viewed 9 March 2018 <https://search.credoreference.com>.

 

Encyclopedia

With Author

In-text citation 

The thalassemias are the commonest genetic disorders in humans (Weatherall 2005:105).

or:

Weatherall (2005:105) states, ' thalassemias are the commonest disorders...

Reference list 

Weatherall, D 2005, 'Thalassemia' in DN Cooper (ed.), in Encyclopaedia of the human genome, viewed 8 February 2017<http://www.credoreference.com

Without author

In-text citation:

Example: 

A major movement, first in painting and later in music ('Impressionism' 2008).

or:

'Impressionism' (2008) is stated as a major movement first in painting...

Reference List 

'Impressionism' 2008, In Philip's encyclopedia online, Philips, London, viewed 15 Feb 2018 <https://search.credoreference.com>.