First-Year Information Literacy Program: Unit 2

An assignment is a task your lecturer gives you to check how well you understand a topic. It could be an essay, a report, or a project. Think of it as your chance to show what you’ve learned and to practice expressing your ideas clearly.

To do well, you need to follow your lecturer’s instructions and meet their expectations, which are often outlined in a document called a rubric.

The first step is to thoroughly understand what is expected of you. Follow these steps:

• Read the Assignment Brief: Go through the instructions multiple times to ensure clarity. Pay attention to the keywords (e.g., analyze, compare, evaluate) as these indicate the type of work required.
• Understand the Grading Criteria/Rubric: Know what aspects your lecturer will focus on. This will help you prioritize certain sections of your assignment.
• Check Deadlines: Make a note of the submission deadline and plan your time accordingly.

Before diving into research, you need to break down the topic into its key components to identify key ideas and improve understanding:

• Highlight Key Terms: Identify the most important words in the assignment prompt.
• Identify Related Concepts: Think about synonyms or broader/narrower terms that may help expand your research.

Example:

Factors Contributing to Teenage Pregnancy in Galeshewe, Kimberley.

Your assignment should be clear, organized, and easy to follow. Here is a simple guide:

1. Cover Page: Include your name, student number, course code, and assignment title.
2. Introduction: Briefly explain what your assignment is about and what you will discuss.
3. Main Body: Organize your ideas into paragraphs, with each paragraph discussing one main point. Use headings and subheadings if needed.
4. Conclusion: Summarize your main points and state your final thoughts.
5. Reference List: List all the sources you cited in your assignment.

Free Marks Tip: Always check if your lecturer provided a specific structure to follow in the instructions or rubric!

Understanding the Assignment Rubric

A rubric is a guide your lecturer uses to mark your assignment. It tells you what they are looking for and how they will award marks. Think of it as a map to success! By understanding the rubric, you can focus on the most important parts of your assignment and avoid losing unnecessary marks. Below are some key sections of a typical rubric and tips on how to score highly in each:

1. Proper In-Text Referencing (Avoiding Plagiarism)

Whenever you use information from books, articles, or websites in your assignment, you must give credit to the source by citing it within your text. This is called in-text referencing.

Free Marks Tip: Proper referencing can earn you easy marks since lecturers award points for correctly acknowledging your sources. Details on Referencing will be covered in Unit 4.

2. Structuring a Reference List

At the end of your assignment, you need a reference list showing all the sources you used. This must follow a specific format (e.g., Harvard). Details on Referencing will be covered in Unit 4.

Free Marks Tip: Double-check your reference list format—it’s one of the easiest places to gain marks if done correctly!
3. Level of Similarity (Avoiding Plagiarism)

When you submit your assignment, it will likely go through a plagiarism-checking tool (like Turnitin). This tool shows the level of similarity, or how much of your work matches other sources. Details on Referencing will be covered in Unit 5.

Free Marks Tip: Lecturers love originality. Even if your ideas are inspired by others, use your own words and back them up with proper references to avoid plagiarism.

Remember: Citations + References + Original Work = Free Marks! 😊

Primary Sources

Primary sources are direct, firsthand accounts of a subject from individuals who were directly involved. These sources can encompass:

• Original documents, such as legal texts and other foundational papers.
• News articles written by reporters who observed an event or who include quotes from eyewitnesses.
• Speeches, diaries, letters, and interviews—documents reflecting the thoughts and words of those directly engaged.
• Original research findings.
• Datasets and survey information, like census or economic data.
• Photographs, videos, or audio recordings that document an event.

Secondary sources

Secondary sources are one step away from primary sources, often incorporating quotes or references to them. While they may address the same topic, they provide additional interpretation and analysis. Examples of secondary sources include:

• The majority of books discussing a specific subject.
• Analyses or interpretations of data.
• Scholarly articles or other writings about a topic, particularly from individuals not directly involved.
• Documentaries, which may feature photos or videos that qualify as primary sources.

Example: 

The lecturer may provide a reading list with the expectation that you can start with this list and, if possible/necessary, add more readings when preparing for the assignment. The items on your reading list are reliable sources of information, which are relevant to your topic.

The first thing that needs to be done is to interpret a reading list that will have, amongst others, references to books and journal articles. You need to be able to differentiate between a book and a journal article before you start with the assignment.

Sources of Information:

Books

Books are one of the most reliable and comprehensive sources of information. They provide in-depth coverage of topics, often combining research, analysis, and expert perspectives in a structured manner. Unlike many other sources, books are typically written by subject experts and undergo an extensive editorial process, ensuring that the information presented is well-researched and accurate.

When to Use Books:

• When you need an in-depth understanding of a topic.
• When seeking comprehensive background or historical context.
• When conducting research that requires credible and reliable information.
• When writing essays, research papers, or reports that demand well-supported arguments.

Journals

Journals are essential sources of current, specialized, and peer-reviewed information, particularly for academic and professional research. Published on a regular basis (monthly, quarterly, or annually), journals contain articles written by experts, scholars, or practitioners who contribute to knowledge in a specific field. These articles provide insights into the latest research, trends, theories, and developments, making journals crucial for staying updated in any discipline.

When to Use Journals:

• For Current Research: Journals are ideal for exploring the most recent studies and data in a particular field.
• For In-Depth Analysis: If you need focused information or research on a specific question, journal articles provide detailed insights.
• For Writing Research Papers: Journal articles offer the latest findings and interpretations, which can strengthen the quality and relevance of your academic work.
• For Advanced Study: When engaging in specialized research or graduate-level work, journals are indispensable for finding expert-level discussions and data.

Key Elements of a Journal Article

1. Volume

   • Journals are published regularly (e.g., monthly or quarterly). Each year’s issues are grouped into a volume.
   • The volume represents the number of years the journal has been published.
   • Example: Volume 5 means it’s the journal’s fifth year of publication.

2. Issue Number

   • Each volume is divided into smaller parts called issues.
   • The issue number shows which part of the year the article belongs to. For example:
     • Issue 1: Published at the start of the year (January-March).
     • Issue 2: Published in the next period (April-June), and so on.

3. Page Numbers

   • The page numbers tell you where to find the article in the journal.
   • Example: If an article appears on pages 123–135, you know it’s 12 pages long.

4. DOI (Digital Object Identifier)

   • The DOI is like a permanent address for the article on the internet. It’s a unique code that makes the article easy to find online.
   • Example: DOI: 10.1234/journal.v5i2.001
   • If you type this DOI into a search engine or a DOI resolver (e.g., https://doi.org), it will take you directly to the article.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias are valuable reference works that provide concise, reliable, and well-organized information on a wide range of topics. They are typically written by experts and offer summaries of established knowledge in various fields, making them an excellent starting point for research or gaining a basic understanding of a subject. Encyclopedias can be either general, covering a broad spectrum of topics, or specialized, focusing on specific disciplines like science, history, or medicine.

When to Use Encyclopedias:

• For Background Information: Encyclopedias are ideal for gaining a quick understanding of a new topic before diving into more detailed research.
• For Definitions and Summaries: If you need clear and concise definitions or explanations of concepts, encyclopedias are a great resource.
• At the Start of Research: They help you familiarize yourself with the basics of a subject, allowing you to identify key concepts and related topics for further exploration.
• For Quick Reference: When looking for specific facts, dates, or overviews, encyclopedias provide quick, authoritative answers.

Magazines

Magazines are periodical publications that provide a mix of articles, interviews, photographs, and other content tailored to specific audiences or interests. They cover a wide range of topics, including news, culture, lifestyle, science, technology, and entertainment. While not always scholarly, magazines can be valuable sources of information, especially for current trends, popular opinions, and practical insights.

When to Use Magazines:

• For Current Events: Magazines are ideal for exploring recent news and trends, providing context and commentary that may not be available in more scholarly sources.

• For General Knowledge: When seeking to understand a broad topic or cultural phenomenon, magazines can provide engaging and informative articles that offer various perspectives.

• For Practical Insights: Many magazines include how-to articles, product reviews, and lifestyle tips, making them useful for readers looking for practical advice or recommendations.

• For Cultural Insights: Magazines can help you stay informed about cultural movements, social issues, and public opinions, allowing for a deeper understanding of contemporary society.

Newspapers

Newspapers are periodical publications that provide timely coverage of current events, issues, and developments in various fields such as politics, business, sports, culture, and local news. They are typically published daily or weekly and serve as an essential medium for disseminating information to the public. Newspapers play a crucial role in informing citizens, shaping public opinion, and contributing to the democratic process.

When to Use Newspapers:

• For Current Events: Newspapers are ideal for obtaining immediate updates on breaking news and ongoing stories. They provide context and details that may not yet be available in other sources.

• For Public Opinion: Opinion pieces and editorials in newspapers reflect the viewpoints of various stakeholders and can provide insights into public sentiment on key issues.

• For Local News: Local newspapers are invaluable for staying informed about community events, issues, and developments that might not be covered by national media outlets.

• For Research Context: Newspapers can serve as primary sources for historical research, offering firsthand accounts of events and societal attitudes at specific points in time.