Researcher profiles Benefits
Build your online presence: Make it easy for researchers, students, journalists and funding bodies to find you and your publications.
Increase your research impact: Increase the chances others will read and cite your publications.
Track and measure the impact of your research: Make it easy to keep track of your citations, views, downloads and research impact.
Get the credit for your research: Ensure you get credit for all your research and publications.
Researcher profiles: Author identifiers
- Open Researcher and Contributor ID (ORCID)ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier (an ORCID iD) that you own and control, and that distinguishes you from every other researcher. You can connect your iD with your professional information — affiliations, grants, publications, peer review, and more. You can use your iD to share your information with other systems, ensuring you get recognition for all your contributions, saving you time and hassle, and reducing the risk of errors.
- Google Scholar CitationsGoogle Scholar Citations lets authors set up a profile page that lists their publications and citation metrics.
The citation metrics are updated automatically, and you can choose to have your list of publications updated automatically or update them yourself.
You can make your profile public, so that it appears in Google Scholar results when people search for your name. - ScopusScopus by Elsevier is a subscription bibliographic database which provides citation metrics for publications and authors.
Scopus creates a unique number, or author identifier, for each author with documents indexed in Scopus.
This makes it possible to:
Distinguish between authors with very common names like Smith or Wang,
Group together documents published by the same author whose name may have changed over time or may be cited in a number of different ways, for example, one document might use: Clarke, Adrienne Elizabeth, while others may use Clarke, A. E. or Clarke, A. - ResearcherID on Publons (Clarivate)Join over 2,800,000 researchers on Publons to track your publications, citation metrics, peer reviews, and journal editing work in a single, easy-to-maintain profile.
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions
Open Access research in Computer Science
Research methods
Physical Chemistry Research for Engineering and Applied Sciences, Volume Three by ISBN: 9781771880589Publication Date: 2015-04-01
Bioresources technology in sustainable agriculture : biological and biochemical research by Call Number: 631.5233 BIOISBN: 1774630427Publication Date: 2021
Agricultural Science: the Role of Innovation by Call Number: 338.16 AGRISBN: 9781639870325Publication Date: 2022-09-20
Understanding Global Climate Change by Call Number: 551.6 CRAISBN: 9780367195915Publication Date: 2021-07-28
Social Networks for Researchers
- ResearchGateResearchGate is the professional network for scientists and researchers. Over 19 million members from all over the world use it to share, discover, and discuss research. We're guided by our mission to connect the world of science and make research open to all.
- AcademiaAcademia is a platform for sharing academic research. Academics have uploaded 22 million papers, and 125 million academics, professionals, and students read papers on Academia every month.
- MendeleyMendeley is both a reference manager and a social network.
You can use Mendeley to:
Create bibliographies and insert citations into documents,
Import, organise and annotate PDF files,
Access papers on the web and mobile devices.
Collaborate with colleagues and share papers, notes and annotations,
Network with other researchers and discover potential collaborators.
Promote events and conferences. - Social Science Research Network (SSRN)The Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a website which aims to rapidly disseminate social science research and facilitate communication among researchers.
It maintains a repository or 'eLibrary' of research for 24 social science disciplines or ‘research networks’, including economics, literature, information systems, law, management and sustainability.
The eLibrary has two parts: an abstract database, and a full-text repository.
You can upload your own papers to SSRN (and then others can download them for free), or choose to upload only abstracts and citations.
SSRN encourages readers and authors to directly communicate with each other and discuss their research, and publishes detailed author contact information
Setting Up A Systematic Review
Overview
All knowledge synthesis products, such as systematic reviews, scoping reviews, rapid reviews, etc, require that you follow methodological guidelines and reporting standards in documenting how the research was completed. This requires extensive documentation, particularly as reviews can take years to complete, and you may not remember all the details that go into completing a review. Setting up your projects with these standards in mind right from the start will make this process much easier.
Reporting Standards
- Protocol (PRISMA-P)
- Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses (PRISMA)
- Scoping Reviews (PRISMA-Sc)
- Literature Reviews for Systematic Reviews (PRISMA-S)
- Reporting standards for Systematic Evidence Syntheses (ROSES) / Environmental Sciences
What To Document
In addition to required documentation (see Reporting Standards above), it is also important to note other information for your own record keeping. Use a search log (see Resources) to note down:
- Keywords (both keywords used in the final search and any keywords that were tested out but not used)
- Subject terms (both subject terms used in the final search and any keywords that were tested out but not used)
- Explanations for why keywords or subject terms were not used (e.g., X term was too broad; Y term did not capture relevant results)
- Names of databases searched
- Number of results found for each search in each database
- Number of results after deduplication
- Any relevant papers that MUST be found in your final search set
Setting Up Accounts
Set up personal accounts in every database or resource that you use for your systematic review. Doing this will allow you to:
- Modify draft searches over time
- Save your final searches
- Rerun your searches as needed for updates
- Set up alerts to be notified of new articles
Look for a link that says Personal Account / Create an Account / My Account in each resource and follow the steps involved to create a personal account. As you work on your draft searches make sure to save your progress.
These accounts are separate from your UMNetID and library password. Make sure you note down what you have used for your username and password for each resource.
translation Tools
Syntax Guides
- Searching Syntax Guide for Common Database Platforms
Syntax Guide from the University of Alberta. Supports translation in Ovid, PubMed, Cochrane Library, EBSCO, ProQuest, Web of Science, Scopus, and Google Scholar
- Searching Syntax Guide for Common Database Platforms (Adapted with slight modifications from the University of Alberta (2015))
Supports translation in Ovid, PubMed, Cochrane Library, EBSCO, ProQuest, Web of Science, Scopus and Google Scholar
- Search Syntax: Dalhousie University
This guide was developed by Librarians at Dalhousie University and supports translation in PubMed, Medline (Ovid), Web of Science, ProQuest and Cochrane Library
Other Tools
- SR Accelerator Polyglot
An online tool that provides translated search strings for an array of databases based off of a primary search. Note: Although helpful always double check the work; most useful to translate keyword searches and not subject headings
- Software for systematic reviewThe software has a free version and you required to login.
Systematic Review methodology
Research Methodology
Research Ethics
According to Bryman and Bell (2007)[1] the following ten points represent the most important principles related to ethical considerations in dissertations:
- Research participants should not be subjected to harm in any way whatsoever.
- Respect for the dignity of research participants should be prioritised.
- Full consent should be obtained from the participants prior to the study.
- The protection of the privacy of research participants has to be ensured.
- Adequate level of confidentiality of the research data should be ensured.
- Anonymity of individuals and organisations participating in the research has to be ensured.
- Any deception or exaggeration about the aims and objectives of the research must be avoided.
- Affiliations in any formsformrces of funding, as well as any possible conflicts of interest have to be declared.
- Any type of communication in relation to the research should be done with honesty and transparency.
- Any type of misleading information, as well as representation of primary data findings in a biased way must be avoided.
